Day 16: A Hike

DSC_0004

Of all aerobic activities I am most at home with hiking.  I have spent my life traversing trails all over the country and find that no matter where the trail is it puts me right where I want to be…in beauty and peace.  Hiking a trail energizes our body and uplifts our mind.  It connects us to the elements and brings lively encounters with wildlife.  It can be as casual or ramped up as you choose. And it is perfect when walked in solitude or shared with others. 

DSC_0006

Today I shared a hike with my little guy.  In December, around where I live now, one usually hears the sound of snow crunching underfoot.  Today, however, we’re still crunching on leaves.  We don’t mind!  I ramped up the hike by carrying my toddler in a backpack, adding at least 25 pounds to my weight (hence increasing the weight bearing benefits of walking).  We walked for 40 minutes before I put the little guy down to let his own feet cover some ground.  The pace of the hike slowed down considerably, but the connection with nature and to each other remained.  We became more scrutinizing: each little pebble, crooked stick, and tuft of moss was delighted in and loved.  I cherish the moments in which I watch my son finding his own space and connection with nature.

Leave a Reply

