Mission365

For the weeks leading up to my birthday I contemplated what goal I wanted to achieve this year.  Not an easy process as my history of goal setting has been rife with incompletes.  As I reviewed my history I recognized my tendency to choose objectives that 1) did not interest me, though I thought they did. 2) required me to learn something in an unreasonable amount of time.  Or 3) required me to let go of something that stripped my life of joy.  I saw that I needed to contemplate what my own interests are instead of reaching for some goal in the clouds.  And I needed to be reasonable.  Not limiting, just reasonable.

On December 1st of this year I set out on a mission to balance body and mind.  I realize that achieving homeostasis is a daily practice and not measured by a final goal.  And there are many, many steps to take in creating harmony in our body and mind.  My commitment to myself is this:  365 days of exercise (be it a walk, hike, bike, run, yoga, alternate nostril breathing, anything) for 20 minutes a day.  One day at a time.  From this promise I will remain open to other intentions that arise and allow myself to follow new challenges.  I will track days here to share my experience and hope you will join me for the inspiration and support.  Join me in contemplating or setting your own reasonable personal goal.

Leave a Reply

